2014 News from the Medical College of Wisconsin and Froedtert Hospital Campus

2014 Faculty & Residents - Froedtert

2014 News from the Medical College of Wisconsin and Froedtert Hospital Campus

It is with the familiar mix of pride and sadness that this academic year draws to a close and we say farewell to another class of residents. This has been an outstanding group and we will sincerely miss them. They will do well and I am confident they will be a source of pride for the program. We are looking forward to the 2014-15 academic year as we welcome the incoming Class of 2018, an outstanding group of eight new housestaff. This year also marks the first time we will have a full complement of 32 residents.

The MCW department and its faculty staff continues to grow. Judith Hibbard (MFM) joined the faculty, moving from Chicago. The Gynecologic Oncology division added Erin Bishop who completed her fellowship at the University of Oklahoma, and Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility added Joseph Davis who completed his fellowship at Albert Einstein College of Medicine. The generalist division also continued to grow, hiring two established physicians: Rahmouna Farez, who came to us from Boston and Laura Jacques who practiced in the Oconomowoc area. The research division at MCW continues to develop as well, and we have hired a Vice Chair for research – Dr. Ramani Ramchandran. We are also looking forward to welcoming back Jessica (Crawford) Francis. She finished the program in 2011 and has completed a Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology fellowship at Baylor University. She will start in late summer and we are excited to have her back with the program.

Faculty have also moved into new roles. Michael Lund, who has been the Student Clerkship Director since 2002 is stepping away from that post and will be one of the new Continuous Professional Development Directors at MCW. Drs. Mona Farez and Laura Jacques will be co-directing the clerkship, with assistance from Joseph Davis. Raj Narayan will also be transitioning into one of the Continuous Professional Development Director roles. Moving into his role as Associate Residency Director will be Jessica Francis.

Honoring its past, the department hosted the Inaugural E. James Aiman Memorial Lecture this spring. This endowed lectureship is in memory of Jim Aiman, an outstanding educator and 29 year (1981-2010) member of the faculty who passed away in 2011. It joins our other named lectures in honor of former faculty Eleanor Delfs and Roland Cron.

Thirteen of our faculty members were voted Best Doctors® for 2013-2014. The list includes: Drs. William H. Bradley, Fredrik F. Broekhuizen, Kathy A. King, Timothy E. Klatt, Randall S. Kuhlmann, Paul M. Lemen, Michael R. Lund, Raj Narayan, Julianne R. Newcomer, Erika L. Peterson, Janet S. Rader, Estil Y. Strawn, and Denise S. Uyar.

Two of our faculty members were recognized as the Top OBGYN Physicians from the patient satisfaction surveys.

  • Clinic (Specialty): Michael R. Lund, MD;
  • Oncology: William H. Bradley, MD

Froedtert & The Medical College of Wisconsin was named to the 2014 100 Top Hospitals list released annually by Truven Health Analytics, formerly the health care business of Thomson Reuters.

Cassidy Berns started as the Residency Program Coordinator in January 2014. Please join us in welcoming her.