2013 News from the Residency Program Campuses

2013 News from the Residency Program Campuses

News from the Medical College of Wisconsin and Froedtert Hospital

Once again, we bring a successful year to a close in the MCWAH Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Program. We are very proud of the Class of 2013 as they depart for fellowship, academic positions, and private practices. We also welcome the incoming Class of 2017, an outstanding group of eight new housestaff. We continued our run of excellent Match results and look forward to the next four years with this group.

At Froedtert and the Medical College of Wisconsin, there have been a number of positive developments. The Froedtert Birth Center continues to grow, with the highest number of deliveries in its history last year.

Timothy Klatt, MD, has been named Head of the Division of General Obstetrics and Gynecology in March of this year. He is committed to leadership in an inclusive, collaborative fashion. Please congratulate him in his new roll.

Our Reproductive Medicine Center moved to a new location. They moved from Froedtert Hospital in the Pavilion Center to the Community Memorial Medical Commons in Menomonee Falls. It allowed for enhancing the healing environment with its expansion.

We held our 3rd annual Eleanor Delfs, MD Lectureship for Pioneers. Linda B. Cottler, PhD, MPH was our guest speaker this year and spoke on “Community Engaged Research: The New Frontier”.

Thirteen of our faculty members were voted Best Doctors® for 2012-2013. The list includes: Drs. William H. Bradley, Fredrik F. Broekhuizen, Kathy A. King, Timothy E. Klatt, Randall S. Kuhlmann, Paul M. Lemen, Michael R. Lund, Raj Narayan, Julianne R. Newcomer, Erika L. Peterson, Janet S. Rader, Estil Y. Strawn, and Denise S. Uyar.

Three of our faculty members were named in the US News Top Doctors List. They were Julian E. De Lia, MD, Erika L. Peterson, MD, and Janet S. Rader, MD.

Six of our faculty members were recognized as the Top OBGYN Physicians from the patient satisfaction surveys.

  • Day Surgery: Julianne R. Newcomer, MD;
  • Clinic (Specialty): Timothy E. Klatt, MD and Michael R. Lund, MD;
  • Inpatient: Kathy A. King, MD and Michael R. Lund, MD
  • Oncology: William H. Bradley, MD

Froedtert Hospital earned the National Research Corporation’s Consumer Choice Award for the eighth straight year.

Froedtert & The Medical College of Wisconsin was named to the 2013 100 Top Hospitals list released annually by Truven Health Analytics, formerly the health care business of Thomson Reuters.

Jennifer Harris started as the Residency Program Coordinator in July 2012. She is doing a tremendous job and we wish her continued success in the years to come.

News from the Wheaton Franciscan-St. Joseph Campus

Congratulations to the new graduating residents. We hope your time here is full of fond memories of great experiences and great teachers. Two of those great instructor and retiring this year and we will all miss them.

Dr. Smita N. Patel, Associate Professor of the Medical College of Wisconsin, will be retiring from the Department of Anesthesiology on June 28, 2013 after a long career in OB/Anesthesiology which began in 1984 at St. Mary’s Hospital where she started as a Clinical Instructor at the Medical College of Wisconsin. She has spent twenty-seven years dedicated to education of residents and nurses in the care of the OB patient. She will be greatly missed and we wish her well in her retirement.

Dr. Dennis Worthington will be retiring June 30, 2013. He was recruited by the Medical College of Wisconsin in 1980 and has been an active member of the faculty since that time. He has been repeatedly recognized as a leader in the practice of Maternal Fetal Medicine in southeastern Wisconsin over the past 33 years. He has been a dedicated teacher and mentor. He served as the Obstetrics and Gynecology resident program director from 1986 – 1991 and was instrumental in starting the Integrated Residency Program along with Dr. Hoogerland, Dr. Aiman, and Dr. Cruikshank. Over 200 residents have directly trained with Dr. Worthington over his career.

Dr. Worthington has been very active clinically. He was a pioneer in fetal surgery performing the first intrauterine transfusion in Wisconsin. Dr. Worthington has published numerous peer review trials and book chapters. His tireless work in the care of pregnant women earned him the highest honor from the Wisconsin Association of Perinatal Care (WAPC) presenting him the Callon-Leonard award in 2012.

We congratulate Dr. Worthington on his numerous academic contributions and rewarding clinical career. His colleagues and patients were fortunate he made his way across the Atlantic and settled in Milwaukee over 30 years ago. He will be greatly missed and we wish him the best.

News from the Columbia St. Mary’s – Milwaukee Campus

Columbia St Mary’s is doing well. It has been a construction free year!

Dr. Hoogerland has become part time, spending the majority of his winter in Arizona. Dr. Ephraim Resnik is the new GYN Oncologist who joined us in October.

Allison Ring, MD

Allison Ring, MD

Drs. Borkovec, Berkoff, and Earle have a new partner joining next month Dr. Jennifer Moralez from Phoenix.

Dr. Burstein is transitioning his career. He’ll be discontinuing office practice and will be the director of perinatal safety for CSM and Ascension Health.

Dr. Janik is president of Society of Reproductive Surgeons (SRS) of the American Society of Reproductive Medicine (ASRM).

The most exciting news of all this year is Dr. Alison Ring gave birth to three beautiful triplets on December 2, 2012. She is back to work and everyone is doing great.