Dr. Pradeep Chaluvally-Raghavan Awarded Liz Tilberis Research Prize for 2022

Dr. Pradeep Chaluvally-Raghavan Awarded Liz Tilberis Research Prize for 2022

Ovarian Cancer Research Alliance (OCRA) is pleased to award research prizes to Dr. Ursula Matulonis and Dr. Pradeep Chaluvally-Raghavan, two investigators doing groundbreaking and important work in the field of ovarian cancer research. OCRA’s research prize recipients are selected by members of OCRA’s Scientific Advisory Committee. These prizes were awarded in December 2022.

The Schreiber Research Prize for Outstanding Mentored Investigators is a biennial prize that is named for Ann Schreiber, who passed away from ovarian cancer, and for her husband Sol Schreiber, who founded Ovarian Cancer Research Fund (now OCRA) in her honor. This prize is awarded to a junior researcher who has used OCRA funding

to impact the field of ovarian cancer research by making a significant discovery, an important contribution to literature, or transitioning to a full-time faculty position.

Pradeep Chaluvally-Raghavan, MSc, PhD, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the Medical College of Wisconsin. He received OCRA’s Ann Schreiber Mentored Investigator Grant in 2013 for his project, “Role of microRNAs in the 3q26 Amplicon in Ovarian Cancer Pathophysiology and Therapy,” and OCRA’s Liz Tilberis Career Development Award in 2016 for his project, “Unexpected Role of CLDN11 cdRNA in Ovarian Cancer.”

Dr. Chaluvally-Raghavan credits OCRA’s support with enabling transformational changes in his research, not only in the basic mechanistic studies but also in developing agents that have the potential to treat ovarian cancer patients.

Since receiving grants from OCRA, he has established a robust and highly-focused research program that is investigating non-coding RNAs, and RNA binding proteins in cancer cells and in infiltrated immune cells.

Dr. Chaluvally-Raghavan’s research group findings are currently being translated into investigational drugs for clinical trials.