Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin Named in Top 4 Performing Academic Medical Centers in the US

November 15, 2016  |  Awards & Recognition, MCW News

vizient-top-academic-medical-center-2016-quality-awardVizient, a member-owned healthcare services company, has awarded Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin the Bernard A. Birnbaum, MD, Quality Leadership Award, given annually to hospital members that demonstrate excellence in delivering high-quality care. Out of 27 hospitals — 13 academic medical centers and 14 community hospitals — we were named 4th.

Excellence is measured by Vizient’s Quality and Accountability Study, which reviews data from Vizient’s database as well as other publicly reported data, like HCAHPS scores and data from the CDC.

The 13 academic medical center recipients, listed in rank order, are:

  • University of Utah Health Care (Salt Lake City)
  • NYU Langone Medical Center (New York City)
  • Mayo Clinic Hospital (Rochester, Minn.)
  • Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin Froedtert Hospital (Milwaukee)
  • Rush University Medical Center (Chicago)
  • WVU Medicine West Virginia University Hospitals (Morgantown)
  • Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey (Pa.) Medical Center
  • Cedars-Sinai Health System (Los Angeles)
  • Houston Methodist
  • Nebraska Medicine (Omaha)
  • The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center (Columbus)
  • University of Michigan Hospitals and Health Centers (Ann Arbor)
  • University of Vermont Medical Center (Burlington)

And the 14 community hospital recipients, in rank order, are:

  • Cleveland Clinic Lutheran Hospital
  • Wake Forest Baptist Health Lexington (N.C.) Medical Center
  • Mayo Clinic Health System (Red Wing, Minn.)
  • Barnes-Jewish West County Hospital (St. Louis)
  • Parkland Health Center (Bonne Terre, Mo.)
  • Vidant Health Duplin Hospital (Kenansville, N.C.)
  • Indiana University Health Tipton Hospital
  • UCHealth-Poudre Valley Hospital (Fort Collins, Colo.)
  • Cleveland Clinic Medina (Ohio) Hospital
  • Vidant Beaufort Hospital (Washington, N.C.)
  • Beaumont Hospital-Grosse Point (Mich.)
  • Houston Methodist West Hospital
  • Newton-Wellesley Hospital (Newton, Mass.)
  • Mayo Clinic Hospital (Phoenix)

More than 100 academic medical centers and 124 community hospitals were included in this year’s study.

“This year’s winners all demonstrate a successful leadership style, a shared sense of purpose, a focus on results, and a culture of collaboration, accountability and adaptability; attributes that are necessary to succeed during this time of unrelenting change in our industry,” said Jody Hatcher, president of sourcing and collaboration services at Vizient.

Medical College of Wisconsin,
Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
9200 West Wisconsin Ave.,
Milwaukee, WI 53226-3522
Phone: (414) 805-6600
24-Hour Emergency Line: (414) 805-6700

Children's Hospital of Wisconsin

© 2012 - 2019, Medical College of Wisconsin, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. | Home | Site Map | Contact Us

twitter facebook