Dr. Lemen has been inducted into MCW’s Society of Teaching Scholars

Each year, the MCW Society of Teaching Scholars elects several outstanding educators to membership in recognition of their teaching excellence and their outstanding contributions as educational scholars and educational leaders.

This year, Dr. Paul Lemen, Associate Professor and OBGYN Residency Program Director, has been personally selected and inducted into this society.

Along with Dr. Lemen, Dr. Michael Lund, Associate Professor and Continuous Professional Development Director, was inducted in 2013 and Dr. Estil Strawn, Professor and Reproductive Endocrinology & Infertility Division Chief, was inducted in 2010.

Conceptualized in the late 1980s by Herbert Swick, MD, then an MCW Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, the Society of Teaching Scholars was established to “by example and action, stimulate innovation in medical education and represent excellence in education in faculty forums.”

Since its 12 charter members were installed at Convocation in September 1990, the Society of Teaching Scholars has elected three to five new members annually over the last quarter-century. Currently, 42 US medical schools have a society, academy or equivalent organization of teaching faculty to recognize faculty members’ excellence as educators.

The Society of Teaching Scholars is a vibrant and important entity at MCW. Over the years, it has been a sponsor or co-sponsor of the following: annual Innovations in Medical Education conference; nationally recognized educators as speakers at MCW; MCW Muses; USMLE item writing workshop; Doceri training program for development of faculty; annual Wagner Award for valuable preceptor educators; and annual Lennon Award for gifted young faculty educators. The Society of Teaching Scholars also is helping Jose Franco, MD, Associate Dean for Educational Improvement, to pilot a faculty evaluation program.

The Society of Teaching Scholars has representatives on many MCW committees and task forces that are focused on topics of education and curriculum, and is one of only two non-departmental entities with representation on the Faculty Council. Membership of the Society of Teaching Scholars currently includes faculty from 13 clinical departments and four basic science departments.

OBGYN Members – MCW Society of Teaching Scholars

Paul M. Lemen, MD

Lemen, Paul M., MD

Professor; Residency Program DirectorSpecialty: General OB/GYN

Read More ›

Michael R. Lund, MD

Lund, Michael R., MD

Associate Professor; Faculty Member, Robert D. and Patricia E. Kern Institute for the Transformation of Medical EducationSpecialty: General OB/GYN

Read More ›

Medical College of Wisconsin,
Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
9200 West Wisconsin Ave.,
Milwaukee, WI 53226-3522
Phone: (414) 805-6600
24-Hour Emergency Line: (414) 805-6700

Children's Hospital of Wisconsin

© 2012 - 2019, Medical College of Wisconsin, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. | Home | Site Map | Contact Us

twitter facebook